Joseph Keeney Receives the State NFHS Outstanding Music Educator of Year Award


Each year, the NFHS Music Association gives its Outstanding Music Educator of the Year award to one recipient in each state.  This year, MSHSAA is please to recognize Joseph Keeney, of Lee's Summit, Missouri, as the 2019-2020 Missouri state award recipient.

Joseph is currently in his twenty-third year as an orchestra director.  Currently he serves as Director of Orchestras at Lee's Summit North High School and Bernard Campbell Middle School.  Prior to this position he taught strings at Washington High School in Kansas City, Kansas and the Raytown School District in Raytown, Missouri.

Joseph received his Bachelors of Music Education degree at the University of Missouri Kansas City and his Masters of Arts in Education from Webster University.  

Under his direction each of the middle and high school orchestras have earned the highest ratings at both the district and state levels during the past ten years.  His high school Symphony Orchestra was selected to perform at the Missouri Music Educators Association Conference in 2009 and 2012.  He also served for eight years as the orchestra director of the Kansas City Youth Symphony Symphonette. 

He serves as an adjudicator for many district and state music festivals in Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Oklahoma and Wisconsin as well as a clinician and guest conductor to various all-district and all-state orchestras, area workshops, summer orchestra's and orchestra festivals.

Keeney is involved in and held leadership positions in several professional music education organizations and is currently serving as President of the Missouri American String Teachers Association.  He remains activie as a performer and plays regularly in the Armande String Quartet.  He has also performed with the Kansas City Civic Symphony, Saint Joseph Symphony and the Lee's Summit Symphony.

Keeney will receive his award at the second general session of the Missouri Music Educators Association Conference in January.